Virtual Art Center

Socially Distanced but Engaged Craft Collective Presents……

In light of current events, SECC will be hosting a Zoom video chat series to support educators, craft artists, and everyone else through this unprecedented time!  We are putting an emphasis on the “social” in this series and basing our work around the guiding principles of Connection, Creativity and Access.  SECC will be using our Zoom account as a “virtual art center” by hosting a series of free, interactive programs over the next few weeks as we all do our part to curb the goal pandemic by practicing “social distancing”.

We would love for you (yes, you!) to participate by sharing your skills and/or tuning in and participating in the programs. SECC’s plan is to transfer the content (in most cases) to a forthcoming YouTube channel so that it can be viewed anytime. To give some structure to our offerings and get everyone thinking, we’ve decided to organize our programming by theme. Activities, lessons, and ideas in any medium for any age group are welcome- after all, we are all in this together!

Please submit your idea here!

We will continue to update this page as our plans solidify so keep checking back for new information and opportunities!

Zoom Etiquette: Your microphone and video will be off when you enter the Zoom meeting.  We encourage you to turn on your video for a more interactive experience (but feel free not to if you’re not comfortable).  Please keep yourself muted when you’re not speaking. This helps keep the audio quality good.  We may record demos and talks to share later.  We will not record purely social sessions.  

PROGRAM SCHEDULE

Monday: “Teaching” Topics
Wednesday: “Talking” Topics
Friday: “Playing” Topics

Monday, March 23, 2020
Lauren Karle Demonstration
2 PM Pacific, 3 PM Mountain, 4 PM Central, 5 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/962436819 

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Anna Metcalfe and Casey Whittier
Anna and Casey will be sharing a favorite cup and beverage and talking about the role that cups have played in their studio work and lives. Reach into your cupboards, find a cup, fill it with something you love and join in! We want to see and hear from you about what’s in your cupboards and why you love them. All ages welcome in this discussion.
8:30 AM Pacific, 9:30 Mountain, 10:30 AM Central, 11:30 AM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/684118766

Friday, March 27, 2020
Forrest Sincoff Gard
Time to Play! Let’s not forget the power of laughter, having fun, and just straight up playing. Join in for a participatory game (that everyone who zooms in can play) and a conversation about the importance of play.
2 PM Pacific, 3 PM Mountain, 4 PM Central, 5 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/970111742

Monday, March 30, 2020
Sock Puppet Storytelling – with e. shafkind
Join artist and educator Erin Shafkind for a workshop on simple storytelling methods. Using guided structures Erin will help you tell a story in an entertaining and fun way. Whether using socks, other household items, or drawn into a comic, everyone has stories to share and we’re excited to hear them. We’re looking forward to opening our Virtual Classroom and participants may have the opportunity to present stories live.  All ages and levels welcome.
2 PM Pacific, 3 PM Mountain, 4 PM Central, 5 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/953705255

Wednesday April 1, 2020
Conversation with Michael J Strand
Idea into Action:  Conversation that puts into question how the gatekeepers we assume are holding back our work.
12 PM Pacific, 1 PM Mountain, 2 PM Central, 3 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/200195905

Friday April 3, 2020
Forrest Sincoff Gard
Time to Play!  TAKE 2
Let’s not forget the power of laughter, having fun, and just straight up playing. Join in for a participatory game (that everyone who zooms in can play) and a conversation about the importance of play.
2 PM Pacific, 3 PM Mountain, 4 PM Central, 5 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/232905254

Monday, April 6, 2020
Conversation with Michael Strand
Telling the story:  How to engage in ethical documentation in public engagement projects.
12 PM Pacific, 1 PM Mountain, 2 PM Central, 3 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/340902850

Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Jeni Hansen: Support Group for art instructors teaching online
Most of us are now teaching art online and I want to offer a place where we can share in this struggle together.
9 AM Pacific, 10 AM Mountain, 11 AM Central, 12 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/900240396

Friday, April 10, 2020
Jill Foote Hutton Reads
Jill Foote-Hutton and a puppet share a story.  She’ll also let us know where to find a spontaneously recorded, traditional, indigenous story about outwitting your enemies with the help of some good friends on YouTube.
Great for kids!
12 PM Pacific, 1 PM Mountain, 2 PM Central, 3 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/566066041

Monday, April 13, 2020
nicole gugliotti Money Chat
Let’s talk about Money, Stimulus, Unemployment and Student Loans.  I’m not an expert but I’ve been doing my best to stay on top as much as I can.  Come if you’ve got questions or if you’ve got info toshare.  Let’s figure some of this stuff out together.  If you make more than 75K I probably can’t help.
12 PM Pacific, 1 PM Mountain, 2 PM Central, 3 PM Eastern
Zoom Link: https://zoom.us/j/765138869

Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Amber Ginsburg
Making: Adaptive Practices –  Round table conversation on what is working and what isn’t during this pandemic.
1 PM Pacific, 2 PM Mountain, 3 PM Central, 4 PM Eastern
Link to Zoom Chat: https://zoom.us/j/297986002

Friday, April 17, 2020
nicole gugliotti: Studio Happy Hour
For folks who might be getting reacquainted with their studios because of all this or if you’re already in your stooood and just need a drink (or a tea) let’s have some fun in our studios together.
5 PM Pacific, 6 PM Mountain, 7 PM Central, 8 PM Eastern
Zoom Link: https://zoom.us/j/304335792

Monday, April 20, 2020
TBA

Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Hard Things To Talk About: Artists and Depression
How does depression interfere or interact with creating? What happens when mental illness overlaps with being an artist? How do artists with depression cope? These are questions that’ll be up for discussion during this Clay Conversation. The aim is to develop a better understanding of and help those with mental illness in general and now as we go through and unfamiliar and uncertain time. Come join us in conversation with: Undine Brod, Jill Foote-Hutton, Seana Higgins, Michael Lorsung, Roberto Lugo, Mariko Paterson, and Alex Thullen.
12 PM Pacific, 1 PM Mountain, 2 PM Central, 3 PM Eastern
Zoom Link: https://zoom.us/j/154014914

Friday, April 24, 2020
TBA